国际医疗保险:医疗救援和转运指南

国际医疗保险:医疗救援和转运指南

如果旅行时突发意外,您知道该怎么做吗?您是否拥有国际医疗保险?当意外出险时,您是否知道该如何寻求帮助?如何拨打急救电话?您是否知道国际医疗保险可以承保国际医疗转运的费用,它可以随时随地帮助您。如果有意外发生,国际医疗保险可以赔付与之相关的费用,会大大降低您和您家人的经济压力。在度假的期间,我们应做好对于突发状况的准备,来避免不必要的损失。

什么是医疗救援和转运

如果意外发生在一个医疗设施不完善的地方,这便需要使用国际医疗保险中的“医疗救援(Evacuation)”。保险公司会通过救护车、直升机、空中救护、商业包机或其他合适的运输方式,将您运送至具有适合的医疗设施且最近的地方接受治疗。

医疗转运(Repatriation)是在医生允许的情况下,将您转运到自己的国家或居住地继续接受治疗。毕竟在自已熟悉的环境中,家人朋友都在身边,会有利于您的康复。

医疗转运通常是比较昂贵的,少则几万,多则几十万,极端情况下甚至会更贵。我们需要提醒您的是,不应该将医疗救援和转运误认为是搜救和救援,比如像被空运到山上寻找山崩时的受害者,这类情况是当地的急救服务机构的职责,他们会第一时间营救。

另外,我们建议您核实一下您的保单是否承担您的家属的陪护旅行的费用。一些保险公司的紧急运送连您的家属也是包含在内的,因为在这种危机时刻,它可以为您和您的家人缓解压力。

保障内容

每家保险公司的保障差别都会很大,以下是一些保险公司的具体案例:

如果在当地没有适当的医疗设施,那么紧急医疗可以将您运送至有其设备的就近的地方进行治疗,其运送方式一般包括救护车,直升机或商业飞机

-在紧急情况下,可对被保险人及其家属的进行转运
-包括被保险人及陪同家属返回居住地的运输费用
-由此而产生的治疗费用。
-由此而产生的交通费用和住宿费用
-医疗运送后,在被保险人入院后陪同家属的酒店住宿费用。
-遗体遣返。包括由此产生的身故丧葬费或者防腐费、运输费和骨灰盒的费用。对于一些保险公司,在法律允许的情况下,包含火葬的费用;一些保险公司,包含运回本国埋葬或火葬的费用。

这个保障是必须的吗?

医疗运送和遣返对旅行的人士来说是极其重要的。当您和您的家人在本国时,在遭遇突发状况时,您会有家人和朋友的支持,也知道该怎么做,该怎样求救,对于医院,是没有任何语言或文化障碍的。

但当你旅行或居住在国外时,我们必须对于这种不可预见的情况有所防范,毕竟您不太熟悉当地的医院,文化和语言。
大多数的保险公司会有至少25000美元的上限,有些高端医疗险甚至无上限。这表明,紧急运送是非常昂贵的,更别提其中的医疗费用了,还有成人陪同费用如何以及家属的交通和住宿费用。

其实保险最重要的意义是能够帮被保险人支付高额的费用。您不购买门诊的保障都没问题,因为那部分费用是可以控制,并且付得起的,但是住院,紧急救援和医疗转运是一定要购买的。因为万一发生意外,这笔费用对于一个家庭将是一笔很大的开销,甚至成为一个巨大负担。

案例分析

彼得,外籍人士,28岁,工作在上海。他是个银行家,拥有非常美好的前景。他和他的未婚妻将于2007年11月在英国举办婚礼。然而,一个月前,一次交通事故使他终身瘫痪,他被一辆两吨的货车撞到,入院后,工作人员发现他的购买过国际医疗保险。这是一个不幸的事故,但幸运的是保险公司可以给予他支持和并帮助他度过这次难关。彼得的母亲飞往上海照看他,并陪他回到自已的国家进行治疗,保险公司和航空公司在飞机上提供完整的重症监护病房和医疗人员。回到彼得的祖国,他立即被送往医院接受治疗和护理。整个过程花费185000美元。试想如果彼得没有国际医疗保险,那么他的家庭将遭受很大的情感创伤和财政负担。

要点提示

购买国际医疗保险的目的很简单。它能够理赔医疗费用、提供保障等。通常,您需要了解您所购买的保险将承保哪些责任?保险公司将如何支付这些费用?他们会提供直付功能吗,这样我们在就诊时就不需付现金了?还是必须我们先支付现金然后再向保险公司理赔呢?这就需要您熟悉索赔过程, 并提供相应的材料给到保险公司。

重要的是,在您购买保险之前您需要仔细研究一下保险市场。如果您已经佣有了一份高端医疗保险,您应该查看一下这份保险是否包含医疗救援和转运。大多数保险公司如AXA, BUPA, Goodhealth, CIGNA, Allianz等,会将医疗运送和遣返作为保障内容或附加选项。

关于提供紧急援助,有众多的跨国集团如SOS,AXA援助,Europ援助,Mapfre和Mondial等。如果没有这些公司的援助,国际医疗保险也对于紧急救援也是无能为力的。

例如SOS。它是世界领先的国际医疗保健、医疗援助和提供服务的公司。它是提供综合性医疗、临床和安全解决方案与国际化经营的组织。SOS成立22年以来,对于中国的医疗保险行业发挥了积极作用。它拥有600个人的团队,每年处理超过40000件医疗案件,500件紧急救援。

对于研究市场上最适合自已的国际医疗保险,选择经纪公司或代理公司是最明智的选择,能够提供给您足够的信息并帮助您做出正确的选择,这样您不仅可以对比各个保险的价格还可以对比其服务水平,毕竟经纪公司或代理公司是非常专业的。

International Health Insurance: A Guide to Medical Evacuation & Repatriation

International Health Insurance: A Guide to Medical Evacuation & Repatriation

Are you prepared if a sudden and unexpected illness or injury happens when traveling? Do you have international health insurance? Do you know what to do, where to go, whom to call? Do you know that an international medical evacuation can start anywhere from US$50,000? In case that happens, if you have an international health insurance, most providers will cover all related costs which will greatly help to reduce the financial or emotional stress on your family and your loved ones. While on vacation, it is important to plan ahead to avoid any unnecessary and unpleasant surprises.

 

What is Medical Evacuation and Repatriation

 

Should a medical emergency happen in a place where treatment is not readily available, a medical evacuation will be executed. You will be transported to the nearest appropriate medical facility within or outside the country where it happened either via an ambulance, a helicopter, an air ambulance, a commercial flight, or other suitable mode of transportation, depending on the situation.

A medical repatriation, on the other hand, is executed under the same condition as a medical evacuation, but it provides you the option of getting treatment in your home country, in a familiar environment, near your friends and family.

When purchasing an expat health insurance, do ensure that you have medical evacuation and repatriation in place to ensure that you get access to the right treatment whenever needed.

At this point, one should not mistaken Medical Evacuation & Repatriation as a search and rescue program – being airlifted from the mountains or searching for victims in a landslide. In most cases, local emergency services are responsible for the first response.

Always read the fine prints and ensure that evacuation will be possible not only during medical emergency but also when appropriate medical facility is unavailable. Some insurers do not guarantee evacuation if circumstances are dangerous or impossible.

Also check to see who will be evacuated as well. Some international health insurance providers take not only you but also all of your dependents. In a time of crisis this can ease the stress for you and your family.

What is covered?

Coverage varies greatly from one insurer to another. Below are some examples of what you can expect from major expat health insurance providers:

- The transportation cost to the nearest medical facility if the required treatment is not readily available to the insured party. Mode of transportation includes ambulance, helicopter or aeroplane.

- Evacuation of insured and dependant(s) during an emergency only.

- Transportation cost of the insured and the accompanying adult returning to country of residence.

- The treatment costs incurred.

- Transportation, traveling, accommodation cost of an accompanying adult.

- Post-evacuation cost. Hotel accommodation for accompanying adult and for insured person when required pre and post hospital admission.

- Repatriation of mortal remains. In the event of death, the cover should include expenses for embalming, a container legally appropriate for transportation, shipping costs and the necessary government authorizations. For some insurers, cremation costs will only be covered if it is required for legal purposes. Some insurers may also include the expenses related to burial or cremation at the home country.

Do I need it?

Medical evacuation and repatriation is imperative for any traveler or expatriate. When you and your family are in your home country, should anything unpleasant happens, you have your support group, your family and friends, you know what to do, who to call, where to go, you are familiar with the healthcare system, there is no language or cultural barrier.

All these may not be the case when you travel or live abroad. Thus any sensible and responsible adult should ensure that help is put in place in the event of unforeseen circumstances.

Most international health insurance providers will start cover from US$25,000 to unlimited. This shows just how costly such exercise can be when executed. This is not to mention the medical cost that will be incurred. What about cost of an accompanying adult? His/her traveling and accommodation cost?

Case Study

28-year-old Peter was an expatriate working in Tokyo. He was a banker and had a bright future ahead of him. In November 2007, Yuki, his fiancée, and him were going to announce their wedding plan to his family back in UK. However, a month before, he met with a fatal accident. An accident that has left him paralyzed for life. He was hit by a two-ton truck while cycling on the streets of Tokyo. Upon admission to the hospital, the staff found his insurance card on him and called InterGlobal Japan. “This is a tragic accident. Taking care of our customer is our top priority. We must ensure that they receive all the support needed.” Christopher Campbell, InterGlobal Japan. Peter’s mother flew to Tokyo to accompany him throughout his repatriation journey. InterGlobal Japan worked with Lufthansa to provide complete intensive care unit and medical staff onboard its aircraft. In UK, Peter was immediately admitted to the hospital to receive treatment and care. The entire repatriation exercise cost US$185,000. Imagine if Peter had no international health insurance coverage, the emotional trauma and the financial burden that the family has to go through.

Important points to take note

The reason for purchasing an international health insurance is simple. To cover costs. Always find out how, what and how much an insurer will cover. How will the insurer pay the various expenses incurred? Will they settle directly so that there is no cash outlay on your side? Or will you have to pay first and claim later? Always ensure that you are familiar with the claim process. Dealing with an accident is already stressful, the last thing you need is a claim rejection due to lack of paper work or knowledge.

It is critical that you study the market carefully and read the fine prints before making such an important decision. If you already have an existing expat health insurance, you should check with your provider if there are any international elements included or if you are already paying for medical evacuation and repatriation. Most insurers such as AXA, BUPA, Goodhealth, CIGNA, Allianz and more, will offer medical evacuation and repatriation within their package or as an add on option.

When it comes to providing emergency assistance, there are numerous multinational organizations such as International SOS, AXA Assistance, Europ Assistance, Mapfre and Mondial Assistance, just to mention a few. Without the aid of these companies, travel or international health insurance would be hollow.

Take for instance International SOS. It is the world’s leading international healthcare, medical assistance, and security services company. It provides integrated medical, clinical, and security solutions to organizations with international operations. It has played an active role in China’s health insurance industry since its establishment 22 years ago. Its team of 600 handles over 40,000 medical cases and over 500 evacuations every year. This translates to over 10 evacuations in China every week.

In researching the market for the most suitable expat health insurance, it is wise to work with an independent intermediary who would be able to advise you and present you with various options. In making your decision, compare not only the price but also the level of service and features. Ensure that the intermediary is truly independent and that they have professional liability.