孕产保险介绍

孕产保险介绍

有怀孕计划的女性,可以通过购买一份含有生育保障的计划来承保整个怀孕过程的费用。含有生育保障的保险通常会包含产前和产后的检查,怀孕并发症,分娩以及新生儿护理的费用。但市场是没有单独销售生育保险的,它是需要与高端医疗保险一起购买的.

购买孕产保险时需要注意的8个要点

在为您和您的宝宝购买保险之前,请仔细阅读保障内容以免发生不必要的麻烦。

1.等待期

通常情况下,保险公司不会接受已经怀孕的准妈妈来购买含有生育的保险,除非您可以加入团体计划并且该团体的保费达到一定的规模。一般来说,生育保险的等待期为8-12个月。

2.等待期的定义

关于等待期,不同的保险公司会有不同的定义。对于一些保险公司,简单点说,如果等待期为8个月,那么在保单生效8个月后的关于生育的理赔,将会被保险公司理赔;对于另一些保险公司,指在保单生效8个月后,您的怀孕才被认可为是可理赔的。

3.年龄限制

大多数国际医疗险不提供44岁以上妇女的生育保障。这是因为保险公司考虑到高龄产妇在怀孕分娩期间的高风险以及并发症的发生。

4.先天性疾病

我们每个人都希望有个健康的宝宝,但如果宝宝出生时患有先天性疾病,如先天性畸形等,无论怎样,您一定会希望让宝宝得到最好的医疗治疗和护理。
尽管如此,并不是所有高端医疗保险都会保障先天性疾病。有些保险公司是完全不保障此项的,一些保险公司会对保障时间或保障额度进行限制(举例说明,因先天性疾病治疗,新生婴儿在出生90天内治疗最高赔付金额为150,000元或赔付其住院30天内的金额并赔付最高赔付金额为10,000美元)。

5.新生儿护理

新生婴儿出生后,需要进行一系列的健康检查和接种疫苗。这些费用通常包含在其母亲的生育保险中,但仅仅只包含出生后的7天。有些保险公司会在保障内容里清楚列明他们不包括(如正常听力测试,预防性药物,任何例行的身体检查,疫苗接种)的项目。

6.妊娠并发症

妊娠并发症是指在发生怀孕期间的疾病,保险公司是可以赔付的,一些保险公司将其归到门诊或住院理赔,而一些保险公司将其归于生育保险进行理赔。将妊娠并发症归到门诊或住院理赔的保险公司是不会将其费用算到生育保险的限额里面的。

7.分娩并发症

分娩并发症是指在分娩过程中所发生的疾病。同妊娠并发症一样,有些保险公司会将分娩并发症的费用归到住院项目下进行理赔,这样能够最大限度地提高您的生育保障福利。

8.分娩费用

分娩的保障范围是指包含所有的生育费用,通常包含了产科医生和助产师的费用,住院的费用及产后护理费用。
大多数保险公司的除外责任
自主选择剖腹产
人工受孕及孕产(少数保险公司会保)

 

Also See:

常见问题: 高端医疗孕产保险

What is Expat Maternity insurance?

What is Expat Maternity insurance?

For expat mothers planning to have a baby, it is advisable to have in place a maternity insurance to ensure that both mother and baby have access to quality medical care. Pregnancy insurance usually pays for cost of prenatal and postnatal check-ups, complications during pregnancy and delivery, childbirth and routine newborn care. Expat maternity or pregnancy insurance is not sold as a stand-alone but rather together with an international health insurance

8 important points to look out for when buying a maternity insurance

Before making that investment for yourself and your baby, it is important to read the fine prints of the insurance policy so as not to be caught by surprise.

1. Waiting period

As being pregnant is considered a pre-existing condition, most insurers will not accept your application if you're already pregnant, except if you join a group plan. For maternity coverage to kick in, the waiting period is usually between 8 to 12 months.

2. Definition of Waiting period

Different insurers have different definition of waiting period. For some, if waiting period is 8 months, it simply means that after 8 months from joining, you are entitled to claim for the approved expenses relating to maternity. For others, it means that you can only make the claim if you conceive 8 months after joining.

3. Age limit

Most international health insurance don't provide maternity coverage for women over the age of 44. This is because women of this age group are considered high risk as they are more likely to experience complications during their pregnancy and delivery.

4. Congenital disease

Every one of us want to have a healthy baby. But if your baby is born with congenital diseases, which is defined as any abnormalities, deformities, diseases, illnesses or injuries present at birth, whether diagnosed or not, you want to make sure that she receives the best medical care available.

Having said that, not all expat maternity insurance cover congenital conditions. Some absolutely do not cover, some insure 100% and some provide partial cover by stating a time or budget limit (like US$150,000 for the first 90 days of the newborn's life or US$ 10,000 for up to 30 days of hospital stay).

5. Newborn care

Once your little bundle of joy is delivered, she will go through a series of health checks and vaccinations. These costs are usually counted as part of the mother's maternity benefits with some insurers stating that the newborn cover is in effect only up to 7 days from the day of delivery. Some insurances will state clearly the items that they don't cover (like normal hearing tests, preventive medicines, any routine physical examination, any vaccinations and inoculations), or state the number of visits to the doctor.

6. Complications in pregnancy

Complications in pregnancy is defined as medical conditions during pregnancy. Should a medical expense be incurred due to this, some insurers classify it under outpatient but some add it under maternity coverage. Having it classified as outpatient will prevent the bill from eating into your maternity benefit.

7. Complications in delivery

Complications in delivery is defined as medical conditions that arises during childbirth. Similarly to above, some insurers lump it together with maternity benefit and some separate this cost and classify it under inpatient thus ensuring that you're able to maximize your pregnancy coverage.

8. Cost of Childbirth

Coverage of childbirth is the basis of all maternity insurance. This usually includes obstetricians' and midwives' fees, hospital charges and postnatal care for mother.

Most insurers exclude:
Voluntary caesarean section
Medically necessary caesarean section due to any previous non-emergency caesarean section undertaken
Premature or multiple births following assisted conception

Also See:

FAQs: Expat Maternity Insurance