Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in _menu_load_objects() (line 579 of /var/www/expatmedicare/includes/menu.inc).

重点关注

1. 除外责任

多数保险公司都有一个清单列表,说明保障范围及免除责任,并且各家都会有所不同。最常见是保前疾病,即使有保障,将会有一个额外加费。下面列出的是一些最普遍的除外责任:

  • 精神病患者(有些保险公司可能会酌情处理)
  • 过敏性疾病
  • 生命维持
  • 避孕(避孕,人工授精,消毒杀菌,非医疗必须的流产等)
  • 战争,灾难(由于化学污染引起的治疗,战争,灾难等)
  • 整容手术(除发生意外或疾病后立即进行的整容手术,例如乳房切除术后的乳房再造,它可以与肿瘤移除手术同时进行,或几个月到几年以后再进行)
  • 肥胖症
  • 先天性疾病

了解您需要哪些保障及您条款中的保障内容是至关重要的。我们的顾问会帮助您检查您的现有的保单,给你推荐合适您的产品。您可以随时给我们发送电子邮件,或查看我们的本网站的常见问题页面。

2. 年度免赔

年度免赔是指您每年从保险公司获得赔偿之前您需要自己负担的医疗费用。举例来说,如果您每年有500美元免赔额,您的医疗费为2,500美元,那么您自己需要支付前500美元,保险公司将支付剩余的2,000美元给您。免赔额可以是每份保单每年的自付金额或也可以是每此疾病治疗的自付金额,从50美元到10,000美元不等。
降低保费的方式之一是增加免赔额。在某些情况下,您的保费可减少高达70%。请随时与我们联系,更进一步商讨降低保费技巧。

3. 等待期

等待期是指一些特殊治疗理赔前或保单生效之前设定的等待时长。当然,对于急性(短期)病或意外医疗,大多数保险公司会立即提供保障。

等待期的规定是为了防止滥用保险。一般情况下,等待时间适用于以下情况:

  • 牙科-6-9个月
  • 牙赤矫正术-6-24个月
  • 孕产-8-12个月
  • 体检(乳房X光照射,子宫颈抹片检查 ,前列腺癌照射等)-12个
  • 保前疾病-24个月

如果是以公司的名义团体购买时,可免除一些等待期时长。重要的是要了解您的个人情况和需求,以选择最合适的产品。如果您需要进一步的了解,请随时给我们发送电子邮件,或点击查看我们的常见问题页面。

4. 理赔

购买国际医疗保险的主要目的是,当您需要时能确保享受保障。因此,清楚了解理赔程序是很重要的。总之,确保您充分理解保单保障内容和保险条款,可以拨打保险公司每周7天,24小时在线医疗服务热线,通常支持多种语言。

如何理赔

  • 你可以先付款后理赔,大部分门诊治疗属于这种情况。确保当您接受治疗时,让您的医生会填写理赔申请表,多数保险公司会要求此项步骤。

  • 还有一种情况是,您的保险公司跟一些诊所或医院已经建立直接支付服务的协议,这样如果您的治疗项目属于保障范围之内的,就只需要在医院签单就可以了,不用付钱给医院。医院会跟您的保险公司直接结算。

  • 在您需要立即住院的情况下,根据条款规定(在入院48小时内通知保险公司),大部分保险公司会提供直付服务,这些取决于该医院是否同意保险公司直付。如果不通知保险公司,您可能只会获得一部分比例的赔偿。

下面的一些治疗,大部分保险公司会要求有医生或专科医生的推荐:

- 物理疗法
- 脊椎按摩疗法
- 针灸
- 整骨疗法
- 顺势疗法
- 足部疗法
 

5. 理赔问题

治疗之前,若您不太确认是否属于保障范围,应事先与您的保险公司或保险经纪人确认清楚,避免任何拖延或拒绝理赔,确保资料交齐。保险公司通常会要求在您治疗后3个月内提交理赔。如果理赔被接收,正常情况下您会在两周内收到赔款。

如果您遇到一些理赔问题,需要建议与帮助,我们将在不收取任务额外费用的情况下竭诚为您提供服务。请随时发送电子邮件给我们,或访问我们的常见问题页面。

6. 年度限额

指保险公司每年可赔偿给被保险人的最高金额。如果您的年度最大赔偿总额为1,000,000美元,代表您最高可理赔1,000,000美元,申请投保时注意哪些保障有分项金额限制。举例来说,如果您孕产的上限为7,000美元,您的花费是8,000美元,那么根据条款规定,保险公司将保赔偿您7,000美元,并且这7,000美元会被包括在您的年度最高赔偿限额中。

对于国际健康医疗保险,年度最大限额通常在1,000,000到3,000,000美元之间,有些产品甚至没有年度最高限额。

7. 孕产

大多数国际健康医疗保险提供孕产保障,注意会有通常8至12个月的等待期。保障限额最高可达14000美元。请清除了解您的保险内容,比如是否区分正常分娩和剖腹产分娩,如果是试管婴儿的话,有些保险公司不承保相关孕产费用。

孕产保障的保障内容:

1) 产前产后护理与治疗

2) 分娩费用(家庭,正规的,医学规定的剖腹产或生育后的治疗)

3) 妊娠并发症

4) 新生儿常规护理(通常承保出生七天内)

如果您有怀孕的计划,请随时与我们联系,进一步商讨适合您的计划。

8. 终身续保

为您和您的家人购买提供终身保障的保险是您对家人的义务和责任。不是所有的产品都可以做到的,一些保险可以续保到65岁甚至一些可以超过80岁,有些产品是不管您的健康状况是否发生变化都可以保证续保,有些公司会因为健康状况变化而调整利益,或调整您的保费,有些公司还会因此拒绝续保。购买一个国际健康与医疗保险,是一个重大而长远的计划,以免将来支付昂贵的医疗费用。

所以,最好是由专业的经纪公司为您提供建议,根据您的需求及预算选择出最适合您的产品,您可以随时给我们发送电子邮件,或访问我们的常见问题页面。

9. 紧急救援和医疗转运

如果您居住或旅行的地方的医疗条件不够好,紧急救援和转运是您的医疗保险中相当重要的一部分。

紧急救援是指当当地的医疗设施无法及时处理事故时所需要执行的,保险公司将支付把您送到最近的医疗设施较好的医院接受治疗的费用,通常还保障与您同行的另一人的费用。

医疗转运是指在医疗允许的情况下,如果当地的医疗条件不允许,您可以选择回您本国接受治疗,可以在熟悉的环境下,有家人朋友在身边。

有些保险公司会提供删除或添加紧急救援和医疗转运这一项。

10. 保障地区

大多数国内的保险公司提供三类保障区域:中国(或大中华),全球除美国,和全球。保障地区也是影响保费的一个因素,某种情况下,可以最多降低保费的60%。您可以随时给我们发送电子邮件或访问我们常见问题页面。

11. 暂时中止

通常情况下,保单不承保5年以内发生的保前疾病,如果该保前疾病入保后连续两年未发生与并且没有保前疾病的相关理赔,那么两年后,保险公司将会承该疾病。

在这里必须指出,有些保前疾病可能永远都不能得到保障,比如:

  • 糖尿病
  • 高血压
  • 高胆固醇
  • 缺血性心脏病
  • 恶性肿瘤
  • 甲状腺疾病 
  • 免疫失调
  • 关节炎

12. 慢性疾病

慢性疾病至少具备以下特征之一:

  1. 需不断治疗,并且不确认能否治愈
  2. 可能会复发
  3. 永久性的
  4. 需要长时间治疗

比如,心脏病,中风,癌症,慢性呼吸系统疾病,关节炎和糖尿病。视力障碍和失明,听力衰退和失聪,口腔疾病和遗传性疾病等慢性疾病。这些疾病往往是早期发现,可以改善饮食,多运动,服用治疗药物预防。

据世界卫生组织(WHO)数据,全球所有死亡人数的60%是由于慢性疾病。这60%中的20%发生在高收入国家,80%在中低收入和中等收入国家。在欧洲地区,86%的死亡是由慢性疾病引起的,在美国,每年10个美国人中7人死于慢性疾病。心脏疾病,癌症和中风,死亡人数每年超过50%。在亚洲(尤其是在中国和印度)慢性疾病不断增长,每年800万慢性疾病发生在30-69岁的人群中,一般人却误认为慢性病只会发生在老人身上。研究表明,50%的慢性病死亡发生在70岁以下的人,25%是60岁以下的人。慢性疾病的常见原因是不健康的饮食,缺乏运动,吸烟和饮酒过量。

包含慢性疾病保障的保险自然要比较贵一些。多数保险公司会设定种类限制和治疗费用上限,比如设定终身赔偿限额或年度限额。如果您确定自己在低风险类别,您可以自己判断来删除此项保障以节省保费。

13. 保前疾病

尽管各保险公司可能有不同的定义,保前疾病通常被定义为投保医疗保险前所以存在的疾病。简单的可以是花粉症,或已经确诊的癌症。

保险公司批准您的申请之前,会要求您填写健康告知,准确提供您的信息是非常重要的,如有疑问,可想您的保险经纪人(比如我们)咨询。

有了这些信息,保险公司将会根据您的情况对应的风险,给出承保或不承保,保障多少的一个确认。如果保险公司决定保障您的保前疾病,可能会增加保费。具体多少将取决于保前疾病的类型和保险公司。保险公司会在某些极端情况下可能决定不保障您的保前疾病,甚至拒绝您的申请。

对于保前疾病,保险公司通常会设定一个等待期,这意味着6-24个的等待期后,您的保前疾病或与之有关的理赔与治疗才将被接受保障。

若保险公司根据医生的诊断描述判断某疾病为保前疾病,保险公司将不予理赔。因此,医生在您的理赔申请表中填写正确的诊断是非常重要的。

Also See:

怎么确认一家好的保险公司
购买保险后关注的5项内容

Important points to take note

1. What is not covered ?

Most insurers have a list of conditions and treatments that are not covered and it differs from one to another. The most common exclusion is pre-existing conditions. In such case, even if some insurers cover, there will be a loading to the premium. Listed below are some of the most general exclusions:

  • Addictive and mental conditions and disorders (some insurers might cover treatment on discretionary basis)
  • Allergies and allergic disorders
  • Artificial life maintenance
  • Birth control (contraception, assisted reproduction, sterilization, abortion, etc)
  • Conflict and disaster (treatment as a result of nuclear or chemical contamination, war, disaster, etc)
  • Cosmetic and plastic surgery (unless it is administered immediately after an accident or disease, e.g. breast reconstruction after mastectomy and sometimes lumpectomy which can take place simultaneously during cancer-removing surgery, or months to years later)
  • Obesity
  • Congenital conditions

It is important that you understand what needs to be covered and what your policy actually covers you. Our consultants will be able to help you review your current policy, guide you through your research and decision making process. Feel free to email us, or visit our FAQ page.

2. Annual Deductible

An annual deductible is the total amount you have agreed to pay each policy year before receiving any reimbursements from your insurer. E.g., if your annual deductible is US$500, and the total amount you have paid for one or various eligible treatments is US$2,500, your insurer will pay out US$2,000 to you and the cost of all other eligible treatments thereafter within each membership year. Deductibles can be per policy or per medical claim. And it can range from US$50 to US$10,000.

One of the ways to make your medical insurance more affordable is to increase your annual deductible. In some cases, your premium may be reduced by up to 70%. Feel free to contact us to discuss how we can help you reduce your premium.

3. Waiting Period

Waiting period is the length of time you have to wait before making any claim for that particular treatment or for the policy to be in force. In the event of an acute (short-term), serious illness or injury most insurers will cover immediately or when the insurer accepts a transfer.

Waiting periods are imposed to prevent any abuse of the system. Generally, waiting periods are applied to the following:

  • Dental – 6 to 9 months depending on procedures carried out
  • Orthodontics – 6 to 24 months
  • Maternity – 8 to 12 months
  • Wellness (mammogram, PAP smear, prostate cancer screening, etc) – 12 months
  • Pre-existing conditions – 24 months

When buying as a group, some waiting periods may be waived. It is important to understand your personal circumstances, plans and needs in order to select the most appropriate product. If you need further assistance, do feel free to email us, or visit our FAQ page.

4. Claims

The main reason to purchase an international medical insurance is to ensure that you receive cover whenever you need. Thus, it is important that you have a clear understanding of the claim procedure. At all time, ensure that you have your policy details and all the relevant information for access to your insurer’s medical helpline, which should be available to you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, in multilanguage.

To make a claim

  • you can either pay first and claim later. This is the case for most out-patient treatments. Most insurers will require that your doctor complete the claim form. So do ensure that you have them when you receive treatment.

  • your insurer will pay directly to your clinic or hospital due to the direct payment network already established or payment guarantee issued prior to treatment or admission

  • in cases where you need to be hospitalized immediately, most insurers will pay out directly provided they are informed within the time period set out in your policy agreement, usually within 48 hours of admission. Failure to do so will mean that you may only be eligible for reimbursement of a proportion of the cost incurred.

Most insurers will require a doctor’s or specialist’s referral when you claim for the following:

- Physiotherapy
- Chiropractic treatment
- Acupuncture treatment
- Osteopathic treatment
- Homeopathic treatment
- Podiatric treatment

5. Problems with claims

Before going for any treatment, if time allows, do check with your insurer to find out if it is covered under your policy. To avoid any delay or rejection to your claim, do ensure that information required is fully completed and that your insurer receives the claim within the time period set out by your insurer, usually within 3 months of receiving the treatment. If all claim procedures are adhered to, normally you should receive your claim within 2 weeks.

Should you face any problems with your claims and require any advice or assistance, we will be happy to provide our service at no extra charge. Do feel free to email us, or visit our FAQ page.

6. Overall Annual Maximum

This is the total amount that your insurer will pay out per member per policy year. Meaning, if your Overall Annual Maximum is US$1,000,000, it means that you can claim up to US$1,000,000. Do take note of the benefit limit which applies for each condition as well. For e.g., if your benefit limit for maternity is US$7,000, your bill comes up to a total of US$8,000, your insurer will only pay US$7,000 and only US$7,000 will be added to your Overall Annual Maximum.

For international health and medical insurance, the Overall Annual Maximum is usually between US$1,000,000 to US$2,000,000 or no limit at all.

7. Maternity

Most international health insurers provide maternity benefits. Do take note that the waiting period is between 8 to 12 months depending on the insurer. Benefit limit can go up to US$14,000 depending on the insurers’ definition, whether its normal delivery, medically prescribed caesarean or delivery following fertility treatment (some insurers exclude pre and post-natal treatment for delivery as a result of fertility treatment).

Maternity benefits usually covers:

1) pre and post-natal care & treatment

2) delivery cost (home, normal, medically prescribed caesarean or following fertility treatment)

3) complications of pregnancy

4) routine new born care (usually for up to 7 days following birth)

If you are planning for a baby, feel free to contact us to discuss the most suitable plan for you.

8. Guaranteed Lifetime Renewal

Being covered at all times is of utmost importance and is your responsibility to your loved ones. Not all products are created equal. Some policies insure up till age 65 and some goes beyond age 80. Some policies guarantee renewal no matter how your health condition has changed during the policy year. Some will adjust benefits without these being reflected in the premium. Some will reject renewal leaving you with no cover at all. In buying an international health and medical insurance, it is important to plan long term and protect yourself from unnecessary future expenses.

It is therefore important that you work with a professional to help you determine your needs and requirements and identify the most suitable product(s) within your budget. Do feel free to email us, or visit our FAQ page.

9. Medical Evacuation and repatriation

What is the level of medical facilities in your country of residence? Unless you are based in a developed country with excellent level of medical facilities, medical evacuation is usually an essential part of an expat medical insurance package.

A medical evacuation is only executed when the medical treatment required is not readily available locally or at the place of accident and is medically necessary. Insurers will pay for the cost of moving you to the nearest medical facility to receive treatment. Cover will usually also include the cost of one other persons traveling with you.

A medical repatriation is executed under the same condition as a medical evacuation, but it provides you the option of getting treatment in your home country, in a familiar environment, near your friends and family.

Some insurers provide the flexibility to delete or add on either medical evacuation or medical repatriation in your cover.

10. Area of Coverage

Most insurers have 2 categories: Worldwide and worldwide excluding USA. Some insurers have more specific geographical breakdown. Premium increases with wider area of coverage. One of the ways to reduce your premium is to define your area of coverage. In some cases, with better definition, it could reduce your premium by 60%. Do feel free to email us, or visit our FAQ page.

11. Moratorium

Usually, pre-existing conditions that occurred 5 years before your policy starts will be excluded. If no claim has been made on the pre-existing condition or related condition for a continuous period of 2 years, it will then be included in the cover. If a claim has been made during this two-year period, the two-year qualifying period starts all over again.

It is important to point out that there are many pre-existing conditions that will never be covered by a moratorium policy, such as:

  • Diabetes
  • Hypertension (raised blood pressure)
  • Hyperlipideamia (raised cholesterol level)
  • Ischemic heart disease
  • Cancer
  • Thyroid disease
  • Auto-immune disorders
  • Arthritis

12. Chronic conditions

Chronic condition is defined as a disease, illness or injury that possesses at least one of the following characteristics:

  1. ongoing and has no known cure
  2. likely to re-occur
  3. permanent
  4. requires long-term treatment

This includes heart disease, stroke, cancer, chronic respiratory diseases, arthritis and diabetes. Visual impairment and blindness, hearing impairment and deafness, oral disease and genetic disorders are other chronic conditions. These diseases are often preventable, and frequently manageable through early detection, improved diet, exercise, and treatment therapy.

According to World Health Organization (WHO), 60% of all deaths globally are due to chronic diseases. Of the 60%, 20% occur in high-income countries and the remaining in low and middle-income countries. In the European region, 86% of deaths are caused by chronic diseases. In the U.S, 7 out of 10 deaths among Americans each year are from chronic diseases. Heart disease, cancer and stroke account for more than 50% of all deaths each year.1 In Asia (particularly in China and India), chronic diseases are increasing. Each year, 8 million deaths from chronic disease that occur are among those 30–69 years of age.2 One of the common misunderstandings of chronic diseases is that it only happens to old people. Research has shown that 50% of chronic disease deaths happen to people under 70 and 25% to people under 60. Common causes of chronic diseases are unhealthy diet, inactivity, smoking and excessive drinking.

Policies that cover chronic conditions are naturally more expensive. Most insurers will set limitations to the kind and cost of treatment, such as setting a lifetime or annual limit to claims pertaining to chronic conditions. Some will not cover at all. If you determine that you are in the low risk category, you can use your own judgment to delete this cover. However, having said that, there are also rare cases where a perfectly healthy young individual develops a chronic illness. And should that happens, it will be seen as a pre-existing condition which many insurers may not be willing to cover or it will be covered at a very high cost.

1 Kung HC, Hoyert DL, Xu JQ, Murphy SL. Deaths: final data for 2005. National Vital Statistics Reports 2008;56(10).
2 Source: A.D. Lopez et al., Global Burden of Disease and Risk Factors (GBD, 6).

13. Pre-existing conditions

Even though various insurers may have different definitions of a pre-existing condition, it is generally defined as a medical condition that existed prior to obtaining your medical insurance. This can be as simple as a hay fever, or a previous diagnosis of a cancer.

Prior to an insurer approving your application, you will be asked to complete a medical questionnaire. It is very important that you provide all the information required as accurately as you can. If in doubt as to what to disclose, it is better to err on the safe side and do so.

With these information, insurer will then decide the status of your application. What to cover or not to cover and how much to cover. Should an insurer decide to cover your pre-existing condition, it will be accepted based on certain terms and conditions and at a higher premium. How much more will depend on the type of pre-existing condition and the insurer. An insurer may decide to exclude your pre-existing condition in your policy or in some extreme cases, reject your application.

Insurers will usually impose a waiting period, meaning that treatments or claims pertaining to your pre-existing condition or related condition will only be covered after the waiting period, which differs from six to twenty-four months, depending on the type of pre-existing condition and also on the insurer.

In excluding the pre-existing condition in your policy, the insurer will not cover for any treatment pertaining to the particular condition or any related condition. Thus, it is important that your doctor reports the correct diagnosis in your claim

Also See:

What makes a good insurer
5 Critical Information after purchase